Gang of Four (GoF) Design Patterns

The Gang of Four (GoF) patterns are generally considered the foundation for all other patterns. They are categorized in three groups: Creational, Structural, and Behavioral. Here you will find information on these important patterns.

Creational Patterns

  • Abstract Factory: Creates an instance of several families of classes
  • Builder: Separates object construction from its representation
  • Factory: Method Creates an instance of several derived classes
  • Prototype: A fully initialized instance to be copied or cloned
  • Singleton: A class of which only a single instance can exist

Structural Patterns

  • Adapter: Match interfaces of different classes
  • Bridge: Separates an object\’s interface from its implementation
  • Composite: A tree structure of simple and composite objects
  • Decorator: Add responsibilities to objects dynamically
  • Facade: A single class that represents an entire subsystem
  • Flyweight: A fine-grained instance used for efficient sharing
  • Proxy: An object representing another object

Behavioral Patterns

  • Chain of Resp. : A way of passing a request between a chain of objects
  • Command: Encapsulate a command request as an object
  • Interpreter: A way to include language elements in a program
  • Iterator: Sequentially access the elements of a collection
  • Mediator: Defines simplified communication between classes
  • Memento: Capture and restore an object\’s internal state
  • Observer: A way of notifying the change to a number of classes
  • State: Alter an object\’s behavior when its state changes
  • Strategy: Encapsulates an algorithm inside a class
  • Template: Method Defer the exact steps of an algorithm to a subclass
  • Visitor: Defines a new operation to a class without change


Leave a Reply

Scroll to Top
%d bloggers like this: